Secondary School

Grades VI to VIII

Cambridge Secondary 1 (CS1)

Areas of emphasis:

Cambridge Secondary 1 is a flexible curriculum that is developed to suit the needs of each school. There is a curriculum framework for each of the following core subjects – English, Mathematics and Science that provides a clear teaching structure. Each framework is designed to engage learners in an active and creative learning journey.

Secondary School Parel

As part of the JBCN’s Cambridge Secondary 1 curriculum our learners will experience:

We expect that as soon as the learners transfer from the Primary School to Cambridge Secondary 1, their experience should be new, challenging and more exciting.

Grades IX to X

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)

Areas of emphasis:

Cambridge IGCSE is the world’s most popular international qualification for the age group of 14-16 years. The IGCSE programme is a two-year programme, which starts in Grade 9 and culminates in a globally recognised qualification at the end of Grade 10. Grades 9 and 10 represent the first stage at which external assessment is focused on the student rather than the school. For subjects there is a core level for all students and an extended level for students who show higher potentials (the school reserves the right to place students at the appropriate level based on assessments and other criteria). The IGCSE grades range from A* to E and vary according to either the core or extended element. These grades are determined by a combination of work done in school during the course, called coursework, and a series of final examinations.

After IGCSE there are many options, but we encourage our JBCN students to consider IBDP. The International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP) – this is a qualification that is recognized worldwide for details visit